3 comments on “Sharidake

  1. I was wondering what happened to the old hut! I had to rub my eyes to make sure it wasn’t a dream when I arrived at the trailhead and saw that concrete bunker of a hut! I actually stayed the night there, and they don’t even have clean drinking water! I think the original hut was along that gravel forest road that you quickly descend to and follow from the new trailhead.

    Did you come back down the waterfall course, or do a loop on the Shindou?

  2. So you went to Shari years ago before the old hut burned down? What made you climb the mountain again?

    Yes, I did the loop, up the waterfalls, down the easy ridge route. Very nice, isn’t it?

  3. Julian,

    I’m planning to walk up Shari-dake the weekend after next. Do you have any recommendations as to route, info about trailhead access, parking, recommended routes, etc? I know you ran up, but do you know how long (roughly) it will take to walk up (I usually seem to match the pace of whoever did the climbs in Lonely Planet’s ‘Hiking in Japan’.)

Leave a Reply

