6 comments on “Houousan

  1. wow, congrats on conquering Mt. Houou before work! I wonder how many more of these stealth missions you’ll have during the rainy season…you definitely have to take advantage of the weather no matter what day it is!

    I hope the weather will be fine for the rest of the Minami Alps excursions. My experience is that the weather is much better than the Kita Alps!

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. There are several more peaks within striking distance of a mid-week early morning attack. Your approach on Goryu of hiking partway up in the evening extends those possibilities.

    I really need good weather for the S. Alps traverse as I’ll have to camp. No hut (rightly so) is going to allow the dog in!

  3. Hello, I’m a hiking friend of Hoshino, who you might have met at Houou mountains.
    I’m on behalf of him to say hi and thank you for a little chat in the middle of wilderness.
    Hope you have a good journey at the upcoming hiking events.

  4. Hi Den-san (& Hoshino-san),

    It was a real pleasure to meet and chat with the very cheerful and friendly Hoshino-san on Yakushi-dake! I think we were both surprised to find someone else on the mountain at that early hour in the morning.

    I wish him (and you too, perhaps?) happy hiking on the rest of the Hyakumeizan.

Leave a Reply

