10 comments on “Washibadake + Suishodake + Kasagadake

  1. wow! congrats on a monster effort (and for surviving the snow) Have you finished all of the peaks in the Kita Alps yet? I seem to remember that Shirouma is still left on the list? That peak got a fair dusting of snow this weekend as well (from the looks of the web cam)

  2. wow. I’ve been following your blog for the past few months. My J-wife says “Super-Doggie!” whenever she sees a picture of Hana. Good luck with the last few peaks.

  3. Thanks for the encouragement! I realise I’ve not posted pictures of the dog for the last few peaks, so have added a picture for your wife. This was at the top of Kasagadake, by which time Hana was so tired she could barely keep her eyes open whenever we stopped. But she perked up again on the descent when I think she knew we were going home.

  4. That’s one heck of a climb, well done!

    Out of interest, do you have any idea of the total number of meters ascended in your hyakumeizan quest? I imagine it’s close to a six digit number..

  5. Thanks! I would love to do the route again at a more leisurely pace with a tent. Isn’t the scenery spectacular in that part of the N. Alps?

    You’ve intrigued me regarding total ascent for the 100. It hadn’t even crossed my mind, but I will try to calculate it roughly. The GPS device shows the total “raw” ascent during the trip, but the saved gpx track loses that information, so recalculation using TopoFusion, etc. is required.

    In short, only a rough estimate is possible – a task I’ll leave for the hibernating winter months.

  6. When I compare photos with cjw, it makes me want to swap my small digicam for a Nikon SLR, but I know that a) I still couldn’t take great pictures with an SLR, and b) I’d rather carry a liter of water than a kilogram of camera.

    For me, the ridge route from Sugoroku to Kasagadake was the most spectacular of all the 100. It will make a great day-loop trail run from Shinhodaka next year.

  7. I am astonished that you have climbed so many mountains this year! Do you not work or is your job climbing mountains? I am lucky to get 6 to 10 hikes in a year. I am most envious of you and your dog, sir.
    Regarding this particular hike, the fresh snow makes the landscape sublime. I am already thinking of how I can plan to do an extended hike in the same place next October. I will not have your speed though. I am always hauling 15kg of camera gear with me, on top of my tent, clothes, food, etc. But if I have enough time to enjoy the scenery that you experienced I will be content to carry my burden across the summits.

  8. Unfortunately I do have to work to pay for all these trips! The mountains have consumed all weekends and I also did many during the night, partly so that I did not have to take time off. As a result, the total number of weekdays off work was 14.

    The photos on your site are most impressive, and I can see how all those cameras will weigh you down. I often wished I had more than a digicam, but photos were not my priority on these trips.

    The outstanding scenery of the entire chain from Kasagadake to Suisho, then looping onto Yakushi/Kurobegoro, was an eye-opener. You’ll need plenty of film. There are many huts in the area, which would help reduce your weight, but beware that they start closing from mid September.

    I’d appreciate an email maybe next year when you’ve been there and posted pictures on your site!

Leave a Reply

